Luxury accommodation in Port Alfred

Guest Reviews

Valuable feedback from guests at the Hillscapes Port Alfred

AJ&Nix
My Husband and I were absolutely blown away by the amazing care and service received by our wonderful hosts and staff. You feel so at home and part of the family. It was an absolute treat and blessing to stay and be welcomed there.
Tripadvisor, January 2021
AJ&Nix Tripadvisor, January 2021
AJ&Nix
Owen and Joanne thank you so much for opening up your home and your hearts to us, it is something we continue to cherish and we are so grateful to you both. We would highly recommend Hillscapes and cannot wait to go back!
Tripadvisor, January 2021
AJ&Nix Tripadvisor, January 2021
Bongiwe Bhani
The rooms are very neat and clean. There's a beautiful sea view, the staff is very friendly and they willing to go an extra mile in helping you. I would really recommend if you're looking for a nice quiet getaway.
Google Reviews, December 2020
Bongiwe Bhani Google Reviews, December 2020
Alan Walters
Sea views to die for. Very upmarket rooms. Huge sitting room. Love the fire. Mitchellin star kitchen. Exceptional hosts who cannot do enough for you. Dogs are part of the family and treat you like one also. Family I mean not dog.
Google Reviews, August 2019
Alan Walters Google Reviews, August 2019
    Hand written guest review

    Thank you so much for having us to stay in your warm and friendly beautiful home.  You gave us 5star treatment.  It was awesome to just chill, relax and enjoy the stunning view of the ocean. 

    What a wonderful home you have created – so comfortable, friendly and hospitable with 7star rating.   Thank you so much for having us and allowing us the joy of exploring the surrounds.  Absolutely fantastic. 

    Thank you for a very entertaining week in your
    magnificent home – so much thought and care has been put into it and it takes a week to take it all in – thank you both. 

    I have so enjoyed spending a very special week in your magnificent home.  I was spoilt in every way and truly appreciate it all.  I am sure your guests will love your home and wonderful warm hospitality. 

    There are few things to say, but those that one can only be with love and positivity – THANK YOU!!!! 

    Hand written guest review

    An absolute amazing place. A view to die for. Had a great time. Jo-Anne and Owen are great hosts. Ek sal beslis enige tyd weer terug kom. 5 ster verblyf.

    Such a “special couple” that have given us “special memories” .  Your “home” is as beautiful as ever as is your hospitality.  You go out of your way to make sure your Guests are well looked after, nothing is too much trouble.  Thank you for making our stay a memorable one, we love being here and the ambience is always warm and homely.  Your view is spectacular and unique – its like looking through “Gods Window” to sit and have supper at your table, looking out at a beautiful sunset and listening to the waves – whats more beautiful than that.   Till our next visit. 

    We are at a loss of words to describe the love, warmth and unique hospitality that Jo-Anne has shared with us these unforgettable two days!! The home is exquisitely furnished, it embraces 180 degrees of sea and breaker views. The accommodations available are beyond excellent and the meals are superb. Our love and prayers will be with you constantly as you and Owen set off into the bright future that awaits you both – Loving and delighting your guests from around the world to share in your Eden. God be with you always.  

    What a wonderful, homely, comfortable, beautiful place of rest and special time with such wonderful hosts. Fantastic to share in such a family home. So enjoyed the dogs, delicious healthy food, hospitality beyond words. Thank you Owen and Josie for caring and treating us so well. You are an amazing team.

    Thank you Jo and Owen for all the warmth, love and care you have shared with us. We have loved the laughter and late night chats around the table. Your hearty home cooked meals, your “babies” and hospitality creates a home away from home. You have blessed us.

    Hand written guest review

    Stunning views, relaxing atmosphere and great way to switch off. Thank you for a fantastic time.

    Thank you Jo-Anne and Owen for giving so much of yourselves in making our stay so memorable. What a wonderful warm home you have created. I wish you both great success in your endeavor.

    The owners and our friends Josie and Owen will shift the world to please their guests ! They are beautiful, warm-hearted people, with a passion for nature and Port Alfred. Come breath the fresh air, catch a fish on the river from their cabin boat or from the rocks, go for long walks on the pristine beaches….just come !

    Josie & Owen made us feel so welcome and at home the moment we walked in the door. Wonderful hospitality, with a warm homely ambience. Its such a relaxing place to spend a few days, the views are breath taking, the meals are top quality and delicious. the rooms are beautifully decoarated and there is a beautiful pool to relax next to and enjoy some peace and quiet under the African Sky. We were taken out for walks along the beach, up the river on the boat, amongst other outings, we had such fun and laughed a lot which is definitely good for the soul. We will definitely be back there as often as possible.

    Enjoyed a wonderful weekend stay. So enjoyed it that I felt the need to share this little known but very special place. Accommodation is excellent, very well appointed. Hospitality is homely but very professional. We felt must welcome and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

    Hand written guest review

    Thank you for the most wonderful stay and effort that you went to that made our visit so special. Much appreciated Jo-Anne.

    Absolutely superb, caring, hospitality….generous and excellent meals, 5* Accommodation, and Fun, guided tours of the beautiful seaside town and surrounding area.

    Our hostess, the owner Josie, could not have been more caring and generous with her time, her excellent meals, and the restful privacy of our suite ensured our quiet times were just that.

    We would never consider staying anywhere else in that entire Eastern Cape Region.

    Amazing relaxation….

    What a wonderful stay with fantastic hosts. We have never felt so relaxed in such beautiful surroundings. Accommodation is very comfortable and luxurious but we felt so at home due to due our hosts hospitality. Meals were excellent and even accommodated special diets with such ease. Great place to go to feel totally relaxed and get away from hustle bustle. Josie and Owen help you to relax and enjoy the tranquility of their home and surroundings always making you feel comfortable and welcome as though part of the family. Highly recommend for those needing to get away from business of life to have total relax…..

    Dearest Friends, This has been such a wonderful time of sharing and catching up. Thank you both for your amazing hospitality. We have had an absolute treat in your beautiful home. The walks, bike rides, fishing, Addo Elephant ……..will be well remembered as will the amazing food. Mouse, Butter Bot, Gabby also have a special place in our hearts. Will see you both soon. Our hearts are full!

    What an experience to spend time in this truly excellent home from home. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave, we were looked after by our hosts, Owen and Joanne Hilliar. The accommodation is five star, the home one shares has everything one could wish for – a quiet library, comfortable lounges, full television, wi-fi, and views across the ocean to die for. Their terrace is both comfortable and a place to sit and watch the abundance of birds that live in the indigenous areas and the ships passing out to sea. The pool is a must in summer and is situated in a very well planned and cared for indigenous garden. Owen and Joannes Staff are delightful and assist in every way possible. There is plenty to do around Port Alfred – golf, game reserves, art and culture, walks etc and Owen and Joanne are well equipped to help with any decision on the days activities. I am certainly looking forward to my next visit.

    Hand written guest review
    Sea views to die for.  Very upmarket rooms.  Huge sitting room.  Love the fire.  Mitchellin star kitchen.
     
    Exceptional hosts who cannot do enough for you.  Dogs are part of the family and treat you like one also.   Family I mean not dog.

    A Paradise Found

    The owners and our friends Josie and Owen will shift the world to please their guests ! They are beautiful, warm-hearted people, with a passion for nature and Port Alfred. Come breath the fresh air, catch a fish on the river from their cabin boat or from the rocks, go for long walks on the pristine beaches….just come !

    We had a fabulous weekend with you .

    Stunning house you have . Great company. Wonderful food.

    Lovely boat trip. The whole thing was so so nice..

    We both really enjoyed it. Our five star rating was not exaggerated..

    Great chauffeur service as well.

    Wow !
    Five star accomodation. Gorgeous rooms. Sea views from the sitting room to die for.
    Beautiful house with exquisite furnishings. Wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make you feel part of the family. Superb food.

    We shared a wonderful week with the Hilliars in their home, eating delicious meals, taking walks to the beach, having fun on the river and relaxing in front of the expansive windows just watching the sea and chilling!
     
    It is a spacious and beautifully appointed home with plenty places to sit and just enjoy the ambience.
     
    The rooms are very comfortable with everything one could want and overlook the pool and beautiful indigenous garden.  I can highly recommend this home from home.

    Escape To Luxury

    Hillscapes sleeps 6 guests only in three luxury ensuite double rooms. The holistic approach of your hosts, Owen and Jo-Anne HIlliar, will attend to your every need. 

    Packages

    Choice Of Packages at Hillscapes Guesthouse
    R 900 / Night
    Option 1 -
    Bed and Breakfast

    wifi restaurant home cafe

    R 1 200 / Night
    Option 2 -
    Dinner, Bed and Breakfast

    wifi restaurant  home cafe  room service

    R 2 800 - R 3 800 / Night
    Option 3 -
    Fully inclusive
    wifi restaurant home cafe room service beach view
    R 14 400 - R18 800 / Night
    Option 4 -
    6 Night Surf and Turf Combo
    wifi restaurant home cafe room service beach view